Ronald Araujo reveals what Getafe player told him about penalty decision

Photo: David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

Barcelona started the season with a goalless draw with Getafe away from home.

The game was marred with a lot of controversial refereeing decisions, which saw Barcelona denied a late penalty.

Ronald Araujo was tackled inside the box in the final moments of the game. After watching the VAR replay, the referee decided against the  penalty and claimed that Gavi had handballed seconds before that.

Araujo has however revealed that even a Getafe player admitted it was a penalty.

“Even the opponent told me there was a penalty [in the last seconds of the Getafe game]. But hey, that’s no excuse, we have to keep working,” Ronald Araujo told the media after the game.

There were many other controversial calls made in the game as well, and Xavi claimed that Gavi’s handball was ‘invented’.

Xavi said of the ref’s penalty call: “The penalty? I didn’t see a handball anywhere… It was invented. They told us that if a handball wasn’t clear, they wouldn’t whistle it, and now they do it the other way round.

“We need effective time in football, we are making a fool of ourselves. If we sell La Liga as the product that has been seen today… It’s not positive. I would tell Javier Tebas [the league president] that it’s a shame.”